Scientific Advisory Board

Scientific Advisory Board

The VHT Scientific Advisory Board was set up in 2010 and comprises Dr Highnam, Professor Brady and two of the original pioneers in breast cancer detection, both of whom were instrumental in the establishment of VHT.

Nico Karssemeijer

Professor Nico Karssemeijer

Nico is one of the pioneers of computer-aided detection and played a key role in its development and adoption. A professor in the Department of Radiology, Radboud University, Nijmegen, the Netherlands, Nico was instrumental in having the Dutch Breast Screening Program incorporate VolparaDensity into a demonstration project, and more recently running the large multi-country EU ASSURE project.


Professor Martin Yaffe CM

Martin is a world-leading medical physicist who consults for and carries out research with many of the world’s major medical imaging companies. He is responsible for much of the pioneering work on quantitative breast imaging. Well known to radiologists and radiographers around the world, Martin has contributed to VHT by performing crucial work on x-ray physics and providing voluminous medical imaging data. Martin continues to teach at the University of Toronto.